Contact Information

Mark Vedder » Fire Department Officers

No Photo Available

Mark Vedder

Assistant Chief Chagrin Falls Fire Department


Mark lives in Chagrin Falls and has served his community on the fire department since 1974. As an Assistant Chief he oversees the EMS, Records and Fire Equipment Division as well as serving as the Corporate Treasurer since 1985.

Mark has previously served as a Lieutenant with the Russell Twp Fire Dept and was the first full-time firefighter/paramedic of the Bainbridge Twp Fire Dept in Geauga County, He most recently worked as a Battalion Chief with Solon Fire-Rescue in Solon, Ohio, retiring in 2013 after 34 years of service.

Mark graduated in the first class of paramedics in Ohio in 1976. He helped form the current fire department EMS service in Chagrin Falls in 1988. Mark is a Paramedic Instructor, Fire Service Instructor and Hazardous Materials instructor who teaches part time for Cuyahoga Community College, Cleveland State University and the Ohio Fire Academy.

Mark is currently the Director of the Chagrin/SE Regional Hazmat Team which serves thirty cities in Cuyahoga County, Ohio which he joined when it was formed in 1990. He is also the Red Team Leader of the Cuyahoga County Hazmat/CBRNE Type 1 Team and chairs the Ohio EMA Hazardous Materials Technical Advisory Committee.

Mark earned his Associate of Applied Science in Fire Technology at Cuyahoga Community College and his Bachelor of Science in Fire Safety Engineering from the University of Cincinnati.

During his tenure, Mark has been awarded the Chagrin Falls Outstanding Firefighter Award in 1984 and again in 1989, the Chagrin Falls Outstanding Officer Award, the Brentwood Hospital Robert DeRue Paramedic Training Program Outstanding Paramedic Award in 1987, the Chagrin ValleyJaycees Distinguished Community Service Award in 1989, the SolonRotary Club Fire Officer of the Year Award in 2010-11, the Chagrin Falls Fire Dept Lifesaving Award in 2008 and again in 2011, and the Chagrin Falls FD Elmer Hissett Service Award in 2012.